Return to Headlines

Educator of the Year Award Renamed!

The Educator of the Year award has been renamed the Ruth J. Skuly Educator of the Year Award in honor of Ruth Skuly and her 20+ years serving on the Cuyahoga SWCD Board of Directors!! Thank you for all you've done for us, Ruth!

In 2000, Ruth Skuly was elected to her first term as a Board Member and she has been a committed and caring supervisor since then. Ruth served as the board chair during some of the most challenging times in the past 21 years.

In all these years, she has rarely missed a meeting, she was always prepared, and she ensured that fair policies were established and administered.
She has served as the Treasurer, Vice Chair and Board Chair; she also served as an Ohio Federation of Soil& Water Conservation Districts-Area 2 Director for 16 years.

Ruth decided not to run for re-election and will be leaving the board after 21 years. Her expertise, dedication and institutional knowledge will be a loss to the District. Ruth dedicated her entire career to the Cleveland Metropolitan School District and was a strong proponent of the District’s education programs, especially education programs for teachers and students.

In recognition of her commitment to the Cuyahoga SWCD, the staff announced that the annual Educator of the Year Award will now be the Ruth J. Skuly Educator of the Year Award in her honor.
Caitlin Miller from Bedford High School was the recipient of this year’s award for engaging her students in in meaningful environmental education experiences!