The Bedford City School District earned three awards at the 86th Annual Occupational Safety and Hygiene Dan Neubert, 1st VP, Greater Cleveland Safety Council, John Sommers, Jerry Grabik, Patricia Symonette, GCSC President, Therest Gallagher, Manager, Cleveland office of the BWC and Mark Mallis, BWC Field Consultant.Awards Program, sponsored by the Greater Cleveland Safety Council.

The annual awards program recognizes employers that have excelled in providing a safe working environment for their employees in the previous calendar year (2016). Awards are determined and calculated with information compiled by the Ohio Bureau of Workers’ Compensation, a partner in the sponsorship of the program.

Employers from the 228 GCSC member organizations are recognized in four separate categories.  The District earned awards in three of the four categories and was one of just 28 organizations among all of the eleven industry classifications (and the only one in the education classification) that earned three or more awards.

The District was presented:
•    The Group Award, which is earned by being the organization in each of the eleven classifications with the best overall safety record;
•    The Achievement Award, for reducing its accident rate by at least 25% over the previous year (2015); and the
•    The Special Award, which is presented to organizations that accrue at least 500,000 hours of aggregate work time and at least six months without a lost-time accident.

The fourth category is The 100% Award, which is earned by going the entire year without a lost-time injury or illness.  The District missed this award by reporting just six lost time days.

“These awards represent the cumulative efforts of all of our employees to provide and maintain a safe work place,” said Bedford City Schools Business Manager Jerry Zgrabik. “Our principals, support staff supervisors, head custodians and especially John Sommers are central in achieving this safety record and thus worthy of recognition.” Mr. Zgrabik and Mr. Sommers, Supervisor of Buildings, Grounds & Custodial Staff, attended the Awards Program at Tizzano’s Party Center in Euclid May 4th and accepted the awards on behalf of the District.

Pictured left to right: Dan Neubert, First Vice-President, Greater  Cleveland Safety Council (GCSC); John Sommers; Jerry Zgrabik; Patricia Symonette, President GCSC; Therese Gallagher, Manager, Cleveland Office of the BWC; and Mark Mallis, BWC Field Consultant.

Back to School News     Print News Article
digital school network
cms login facebook twitter youTube intranet RSS
Bedford High School
481 Northfield Road
Bedford, OH 44146  

Phone: 440-439-4848 
Fax: 440-439-4627
Bedford Local Schools